A Visit at Uncle John’s

A Visit at Uncle John’s

Posted by on Ιούλ 14, 2015 in Blogposts, Latest News, Writing | No Comments

First Passage – Chapter 20: Who’s there? Elias, the Kulukundis? At the Athens airport, we met up with my cousin Miles, who had also come to Greece without his parents. Miles had flown via London whereas we flew directly from New York. We all arrived in Athens at roughly the same time, and we were […]

A summer memory

A summer memory

Posted by on Ιούλ 6, 2015 in Blogposts, Latest News, Opinions | No Comments

In the summer of 1974, the failing colonels staged a coup against the Makarios government in Cyprus. The Turks invaded the island.  In Athens, the Junta fell. Ex-PM Karamanlis took over the Greek leadership and called for elections.  The Greek officer corps was restive and there were continual rumors of another coup.  But after the elections, such rumors were no […]

Some thoughts on the Greek referendum

Some thoughts on the Greek referendum

Posted by on Ιούλ 4, 2015 in Blogposts, Latest News, Opinions | No Comments

In 2014, I wrote that to get out of its bind, Greece might have to be willing to leave the Eurozone («Greece–the Open Circle, MR Quarterly, Summer 2014).  The prediction has come true.  Acting in the manner I prescribed, the Syriza government seems to be willing to leave.  That may or may not produce some […]

Escape from Amorgos by Stelios Kouloglou

Escape from Amorgos by Stelios Kouloglou

Posted by on Ιούν 18, 2015 in Blogposts, Latest News | No Comments

  «Escape from Amorgos», is the new documentary by Stelios Kouloglou based on my book «The Amorgos Conspiracy». The documentary was first presented in 17th Thessaloniki Documentary Festival in March.                 Here is the trailer: Escape from Amorgos – Kouloglou – Trailer

Predictions on Greece and the Eurozone

Predictions on Greece and the Eurozone

Posted by on Ιούν 11, 2015 in Blogposts, Latest News, Opinions | No Comments

Last August in the Mediterrranean Quarterly I predicted “The only way out of the double bind may be for Greece to consider leaving (the Eurozone.) That is not the same as saying that it should leave. Just the fact that it is considering an alternative will affect the course that Greece is on, and may in fact induce changes […]

Mario Draghi and the Greek «accident»

Mario Draghi and the Greek «accident»

Posted by on Ιούν 2, 2015 in Blogposts, Latest News, Writing | No Comments

In Greece’s negotiations with the eurozone, the man to watch is Mario Draghi, head of the European Central Bank, not Tsipras or Merkel. Even if Greece should default on a payment to the creditors, it still cannot be expelled from the eurozone. The only way that could happen would be if its banks failed, and […]

Escape from Ideology

Escape from Ideology

Posted by on Μαΐ 12, 2015 in Blogposts, Latest News, Writing | No Comments

George Mylonas, who escaped from detention on Amorgos under the junta, remained a prisoner of his ideology. By refusing to join a coalition of national unity under former Prime Minister Karamanlis, he gave up an opportunity to help Greece shake free of the Junta five years early because he was afraid to be criticized by […]

Our website has a new e-shop section!

Our website has a new e-shop section!

Posted by on Απρ 21, 2015 in Blogposts, Latest News | No Comments

In the era of digitisation, literature cannot be a follower of the technological (r)evolution. Thus, Elias Kulukundis has published his first two books, The Feasts of memory and The Amorgos conspiracy, for e-readers. You can now enjoy reading while on the move, no matter the weight you can carry with you and the place you are […]

«First passage»: a new memoir by Elias Kulukundis is about to be published

«First passage»: a new memoir by Elias Kulukundis is about to be published

Posted by on Απρ 21, 2015 in Latest News | No Comments

Coming of age is the first journey into the reality of grownups. But not everyone has a “normal” way of entering this brave, new world. First passage, in the tradition of J. D. Salinger’s Catcher in the Rye or Philip Roth’s Goodbye, Columbus, is a memoir about a train wreck that the hero never saw until […]

«The Amorgos Conspiracy» mini documentary

«The Amorgos Conspiracy» mini documentary

Posted by on Απρ 16, 2015 in Latest News | No Comments

The online platform GreekTV.com recently presented the short documentary «The Amorgos Conspiracy: A true story of escape from the military junta», directed by the video-journalist Nikolia Apostolou. The mini doc is written and produced by Elias Kulukundis and it is based on the book under the same name. The «Amorgos Conspiracy» is the true story […]

«Return to Amorgos» opens the 1st Syros International Film Festival

«Return to Amorgos» opens the 1st Syros International Film Festival

Posted by on Αυγ 3, 2013 in Latest News | No Comments

We are happy to announce that the film ‘Return to Amorgos’ will open the 1st Syros International Film Festival, on August 6. Elias Kulukundis returns to the island of Amorgos for the first time in 44 years. He revisits the scenes where the true story of The Amorgos Conspiracy took place, and shares memories of that critical summer and autumn […]

Radio Interview on Elliniko Randevou – Funkhaus Europa

Radio Interview on Elliniko Randevou – Funkhaus Europa

Posted by on Ιούλ 8, 2013 in Latest News | No Comments

On the 30th of June 2013, Elias Kulukundis was interviewed by Vassilis Vougiatzis of Funkhaus Europa. In the Greek show «Elliniko Randevou» Elias talked about his book «The Amorgos Conspiracy» which has been recently published in English. Elias commented on the true story of the book and on the historical incidents of the era giving further […]